The MBC Medal

Celebrating the achievements of past students, providing inspiration for current students and the Community.  

2024 Nominations are now open.

Moreton Bay College, as we know it today, is the harvest of five seeds planted long ago by our Founders, the Greene Sisters. Founders’ Day is a celebration of these seeds which continue to nurture the whole student; academically, creatively, spiritually, intellectually and physically and of the rich history of Moreton Bay College.

In keeping with the 2024 Founders’ Day “seed” of Christian Faith and Service, Moreton Bay College is seeking nominations of Old Girls who have significantly served the local, national or international community in this field. Nominations close Sunday 14 April 2024.

Previous Christian Faith and Service Winner

After a life-changing Catholic mission trip to Tanzania, Melissa joined the Canossian Daughters of Charity Order at the age of 20. In 2002 Melissa completed a Bachelor of Education and became a sister-in-training, working with the homeless and socially isolated elderly people and was nominated as Young Queenslander of the Year.

Sr Melissa Dwyer

The inspiring stories of many of our recipients can be viewed on the Our Graduates page.

MBC Medal recipients

2023 - Elizabeth Morgan-Brett Oly

2022 - Honourable Anika Wells MP

2021 - Miss Oriel Handley OAM

2020 - Dr Alex Schumann-Gillett

2019 – Sister Melissa Dwyer

2018 - Ms Shannon Parry OAM

2017 - Ms Brooke Connell

2016 - Ms Melissa Anderson

2015 - Dr Jillian Charker (nee Smythe)

2014 - Dr Cheryl Desha

2013 - Mrs Jessie Vasey, OBE, CBE (nee Halbert)

2012 - Mrs Judy James (nee Emmerson)

2011 - Ms Annette Allison

2010 - Dr Valerie Looi

2009 - Dr Natasha Hendrick, Mrs Bronwyn Herbert (nee Irvine)

2008 - Mrs Joy Nugent (nee McClintock)

2007 - Mrs Shirley Weder (nee Woods)

2006 - Ms Donna Duggan

2005 - Mrs Bobby Connelly (nee Searle)

2004 - The Honourable Dame Quentin Bryce AD CVO (nee Strachan)